Open letter to the editors of my favorite exercise physiology textbooks

Dear editors of my favorite exercise physiology textbooks,

I really enjoy reading your textbooks. The information is clear and concise, the chapters are usually well-written with abundant beautiful figures.

This being said, two things really annoy me. First, the section related to cerebrovascular physiology is usually really small microscopic. When there is one, the usual sentence appears: “there is no change in brain blood flow during exercise”. Dude, this.is.not.true!!!1!! There is now plenty of evidence in the literature describing changes in brain blood flow during exercise.

Please, you need to update my favorite exercise physiology textbooks so I will stop hyperventilating when reading the section related to cerebrovascular physiology, which will preclude a reduction in PaCO2 and the subsequent lowering in brain blood flow…

I hope that you will consider my request,

Regards,

p

Leave a Reply

