Going for the jugular !

No, I didn’t start ultimate fighting…

No, I didn’t receive a bad review for my last submitted paper…

No, I’m not preparing myself for a science debate…

No, I haven’t been scooped by another research group…

No, I’m not writing a letter to the editor…

I’m working on a research protocol! I would really need to get access to the internal jugular vein of my subjects. During my postdoc, I worked in a lab interested in cerebral metabolism and perfusion in humans and the internal jugular vein was catheterized everyday! I have thus been involved in a couple of those studies during my stay over there and published interesting results. I’m now working in Quebec city and I’m aware of only one lab in Canada that puts lines in the jugular vein.

I would be mostly interested in jugular venous oxygen saturation. Since I’m working presently on the impact of vasopressors on cerebral perfusion and oxygenation, I consider that measure very important since technology such as near-infrared spectroscopy (used to non-invasively study frontal lobe oxygenation) has its limitations…

I hope to be able to convince the Ethics committee…

Then, I hope to be able to convince the subjects!

Any volunteers??

9 thoughts on “Going for the jugular !

  1. Piece of cake! Lets do it at 5000m in a third world country to add to the challenge!

    Give Phil a call. He’ll help set you up!

    1. When I said: “I’m aware of only one lab in Canada that puts lines in the jugular vein”, I was referring to his lab ! We’ve already had a chat about it 🙂

      Since you were a subject at 5000m in a third world country, you will ask no questions and be a control subject for my study, right ??

  2. Ahhhhh… life after Copenhagen 😉

    There may always be a young medical doctor nearby who needs research time….

    Bonne chance!

    1. What’s it called…the post-Copenhagen syndrome ?? 🙂

      In fact, I’m already working with an experienced anesthesiologist interested in our vasopressors story …lucky me !

Leave a Reply

